Thursday, August 28, 2008

Lindstroms latest album entitled WHERE YOU GO I GO TOO is out this week on cd (my copy arrived this morning and is sounding suitably beautiful....). Head over to Fact Online for an interview with the man himself...
Todays soundtrack is also brought to you by Joy Division - Closer, Glass Candy - BEATBOX, Spectral Empire - Metalhawk, Daniel Wangs latest Beats In Space Mix and PIL - Metal Box.

Tuesday, August 26, 2008

"We're not a band we're a company"
Spend 12 minutes of your time watching these. The best use of 12 minutes you'll make today.

Friday, August 22, 2008

"The world is dead"

Paul Mawhinney owns the worlds greatest music collection. He loves music. Its in his heart.
In a day of shitty compressed mp3s, itunes, disposability and music just being a commodity have a look at this beautiful short film about Paul Mawhinney and his collection. Its a genuinely moving piece of film.

It makes me want to torch the itunes store....I pine for a day when people buy records again.
Unfortunately I can't see that day ever coming.

Wednesday, August 20, 2008

The mighty Detachments are destroying 93 Feet East on Monday evening. Free entry. Doors at 7.30pm. More info here:

The band are currently working hard on their debut album with Trevor Jackson from Playgroup along with some other uber - producers whose names shall remain secret for now. The fruits of their labour will be revealed shortly. Stay tuned to the bands myspace page for further news...

They have also just started a facebook group so sign up there too:

Onwards true believers!

Thursday, August 14, 2008

If you have purchased Detachments Fear No Fear from any digital store this week and you have a 2 minute version rather than the full 5:43 version then please email us at:

If you can attach your proof of purchase we will organise a refund.

This is unfortunately a delivery error on the part of the digital server and both Thisisnotanexit Records and Detachments apologise for this error - unfortunately it is out of our hands but we will do our best to make sure this doesn't leave a bad taste in your mouth.

Wednesday, August 06, 2008

Tomorrow evening - that'll be Thursday then - Simon A. Carr - that'll be me then - will be Djing at Vibe Bar on Brick Lane in East London with the legends that are Spectral Empire (their debut single Innerfearence / The Minotaur is coming out on Thisisnotanexit in September and blimey its heads down smacked out 80s horror soundtrack prog disco of the highest order) from 1930 - 2330. We'll be digging deep and playing weird whacked out sounds and enjoying a beverage or few at the same time. If you're in town come on down and say hi. What the hell else would you rather do on a Thursday.
Oh and its free entry too. Now you're interested.
As Gordon Ramsay would say - "Vibe Bar, DJ Sets, Spectral Empire, Simon A. Carr, free entry - DONE"

Tuesday, August 05, 2008

(Belated) Single of the week
This came out a few weeks ago and I forgot to highlight its necessity for purchase! Fontan are a new band signed to Studio's Information label and although all this balearica is becoming how shall we say it a bit samey in places this deserves your attention as it delves much more into the motorik drumming of Neu! and Harmonia and a krautrock 70s obsession with aching swooping guitar solos and a Beach Boys-esque vocal than simply retracing the nu-disco template. Beautiful stuff on a beautiful 12" (plus it comes with Studio and A Mountain Of One Remixes). Deserved praise for a rather splendid debut. Hopefully the album will be similarly grandiose in vision.
Be their friend:
Buy the 12" from Phonica as they're a real bricks n mortar record shop:
This week there are two DJ mixes available from Aeroplane and each feature They Came From The Stars I Saw Them in different remixed form...check them out....!

Tracklist01. Fleet Foxes - White Winter Hymnal - Bella Union
02. Quixote Feat. Lisa Li-Lund - Before I Started to Dance (Prins Thomas Diskomiks) - Versatile
03. They Came From The Stars I Saw Them - Moon Song (Holy Ghost! Remix) - This Is Not An Exit
04. The Shortwave Set - Now Til 69 (Aeroplane Remix) - Wall Of Sound
05. Dolle Jolle - Balearic Incarnation (Todd Terje Mix) - Permanent Vacation
06. Eine Klein Nacht Muzik - La Serenissima - Modular Recordings
07. David Rubato - Circuit (Aeroplane Remix) - Institubes
08. Eddy Meets Yannah - Solid Ground (Crazy P Remix) - Solid Ground
09. Toby Tobias - The Feeling (John Daly Remix) - Rekids
10. Mugwump - Yajna - Disco 45/Kompakt
11. Bostro Pesopeo - Communquis - Permanent Vacation
12. Maelstrom - Enter The Cosmo (Sankt Goran & Erik Sidung Remix) - Solar Disco

Aeroplane // Warm Summer Mix Tracklisting:
01. They Came From The Stars : "The Gospel" - Mungolian Jet Set Mix (TINAE Promo)
02. "Pirmas Finns" (Cdr)
03. The Shortwave Set : "Now Til 69" - Aeroplane Remix (Wall Of Sound)
04. Ein Klein Nacht Muzik : "La Serenissima" (Modular Promo)
05. Bostro Pesopeo : "Communquis" (Permanent Vacation Promo)
06. Grand Popo : "My Territory" - Joakim Dub (Cdr)
07. Quixote Feat Lisa LI-Lund : "I Started To Dance"-Prins Thomas Diskomiks (Versatile Promo)
08. Simon Baker : "Plastik" - Todd Terje Remix (Playhouse)
09. Henrik Schwarz/Ame/Dixon - D.P.O.M.B (Innervisions)

Friday, August 01, 2008

Another day - another record shop bites the dust. Hopefully Sister Ray will find a buyer but in this day and age who would invest in a record shop?! 5 years ago an independent house record would sell 5,000 copies as DJs with 1210s all over the land bought vinyl with their hard earned cash. These days with the proliferation of blogs and limewire and the population rebelling against major labels it appears that the average numbers of vinyl sales is falling. DFA now only press 900 per 12" of alot of their releases for example. The days of going record shopping are now simply a click of the mouse and opening up Beatport and Juno. There are some records which still sell (european minimal techno, fidgit house etc) but for those trying to do something different and independently these are tough times.
Support your local record shop and the independent labels you believe in. A few years time and they might not be around...